Help Center

Cinetext is the world’s first social networking app for moviegoers. Use Cinetext to check in, rate and write reviews for movies you see in theaters, share on social media, and connect with others who share your tastes in film and television.

  • 1. Cinema Check-In
  • 2. TV Check-In – Coming this summer!
  • 3. Gaming Check-In – Coming this summer!
  • 4. Discreet Chat with Privacy Mode
  • 5. Flick Flare – Cinema friendly LED light
  • 1. Tap the Profile icon in the lower right of the Home screen to bring up your user profile.
  • 2. Tap the Settings icon in the top right of the Home screen to bring up the Settings screen.
  • 3. Tap Edit Profile and you will be able to edit your:
    • Profile photo
    • Username
    • Name
    • Gender icon
    • Bio (maximum 160 characters)
    • Location
    • Hashtags
      • Hashtags help you to connect with other users who share your tastes in movies and television.
      • Hashtags can be things like actors, directors, genres, shows, and even streaming services like Netflix, Hulu, Amazon Prime Video, etc…
      • Standard hashtag rules apply:
        • Only letters and numbers are allowed.
        • No special characters.
      • Commas between hashtags are not needed.
    • Links to other social media accounts:
      • Facebook
      • Twitter
      • Instagram
      • Snapchat
      • YouTube
  • 4. Tap Save.
  • 1. Tap the Friends icon on the Home screen to bring up the Friends screen.
  • 2. Tap the Add Friends icon located in the top menu bar to bring up the Add Friends screen.
  • 3. Tap Contacts to find Cinetext users among your phone’s contacts list.
    • Tap the Friend + icon to send friend requests.
  • 4. Tap Facebook to find Cinetext users among your Facebook friends.
    • Tap the Friend + icon to send friend requests.
  • 5. Tap Invite to send invites to people in your phone’s contacts list who are not yet Cinetext users.
    • Select the people to whom you wish to send invites.
    • Tap Send Invite at the bottom of the screen.
  • 6. Tap the globe icon in the top menu bar to bring up the Connect screen.
    • The Connect screen lets you find Cinetext users from all over the world who share your tastes in film and television.
    • Find friends based on location, specific usernames, or hashtags by using the search field.
      • Hashtags can be things like movie titles, or names of actors, directors, genres, sitcoms, streaming services, etc...
    • Tap the Friend + icon to send friend requests.
  • 1. From the Home screen, tap Check In.
  • 2. Select the cinema.
  • 3. Select the movie.
  • 4. Tag friends (optional).
  • 5. Add comment (optional).
  • 6. Tap the appropriate Check In button.
    • Tap red Check In to share on Cinetext.
    • Tap Facebook Check In to share on Facebook and Cinetext.
    • Tap Twitter Check In to share on Twitter and Cinetext.
    • Once you check in, your check-in status is saved to History, posted on Newsfeed, and shared with your Cinetext friends via notification. Likewise, when your friends check in, details are posted on Newsfeed and shared with you via notification.
    • You must Check In to movies you plan to rate and review them later, otherwise you cannot rate and review them. Read Rate & Write Reviews.
  • 1. To rate movies and write reviews you see at the cinema, you must first Check In to those movies.
    • If you did not check in, you cannot rate movies or write reviews.
    • If you check in to a movie
      • Rating the movie is required.
      • Writing a review is optional.
  • 2. To rate/review movies, tap the Check In button.
  • 3. From the New check-in? pop-up, tap Okay to bring up the Write a Review screen.
  • 4. Tap the stars to rate movies.
  • 5. Tap the textbox to write reviews (280-character limit).
  • 6. Tap the appropriate Share button.
    • Tap red Share to share on Cinetext.
    • Tap Facebook Share to share on Facebook and Cinetext.
    • Tap Twitter Share to share on Twitter and Cinetext.
    • Each time you rate and review movies, details are saved to History, posted on Newsfeed, and shared with your Cinetext friends via notification. Likewise, when your friends rate and review movies, details are posted on Newsfeed and shared with you via notification.
  • 1. Each time you and your friends check in and rate and review movies, the details are posted to Newsfeed.
  • 2. Check-In details posted to Newsfeed include:
    • Movie title
    • Date & time
    • Movie poster image in HD
    • People you tag
    • Name of cinema
    • Location of cinema
  • 3. Rating and review details include:
    • Movie title
    • Date & time
    • Movie scene image in HD
    • People you tag
    • Name of cinema
    • Location of cinema
  • 4. To access Newsfeed, tap the Newsfeed icon (located in the bottom toolbar) in the Home screen..
  • 5. Each post in Newsfeed also includes a heart-shaped ‘Like’ button.

How to Enlarge Movie posters

  • 1. Tap movie poster once to enlarge.
  • 2. Double-tap movie poster to enlarge further.

How to Delete Posts

  • 1. You cannot delete other people’s posts from Newsfeed, you can only delete your own.
  • 2. To delete a post from Newsfeed you have to delete it from History.
  • 3. Press anywhere within the post’s top and bottom blue boundary lines for 2 seconds.
  • 4. From the pop-up, tap Okay to delete post.
  • 1. To access History, tap the User Profile icon in the Home screen (located in the bottom toolbar) to bring up the User Profile screen.
  • 2. Details of every Check-In are shared to Newsfeed and saved to History automatically.
  • 3. Details include:
    • Movie title
    • Date & time
    • Movie poster in HD
    • People you tag (optional)
    • Name of cinema
    • Location of cinema
    • Comment (optional)
  • 4. Movie ratings and reviews are shared to Newsfeed and saved to History automatically.

How to Enlarge Movie posters

  • 1. Tap movie poster once to enlarge.
  • 2. Double-tap to enlarge again.

How to Delete Posts

  • 1. You can delete posts in History by doing a long press.
  • 2. Press anywhere within the post’s top and bottom blue boundary lines for 2 seconds.
  • 3. From the pop-up, tap Okay to delete post.
  • 1. Text for the first time via the Chat button in Home screen.
    • From the Home screen, tap Chat button to bring up Chat screen.
    • Tap Friends to bring up the Friend screen.
    • Tap Friends tab to display friends list.
    • Tap the friend with whom you wish to text.
    • From the friend’s profile tap Start Chat button.
  • 2. Text for the first time via the Friends button in Home screen.
    • From the Home screen, tap Friends button to bring up Friends screen.
    • Tap Friends tab to display your list of friends.
    • Tap the friend with whom you wish to text.
    • From the friend’s profile, tap Start Chat button.
  • 3. Once you text a friend for the first time, your conversation is saved to the Chat screen. From then on you can text that friend again by tapping the Chat button in the Home screen and selecting from the list of previous conversations.
  • 4. You can also text friends simply by tapping Start Chat button in their profile.
  • 5. Privacy Mode
    • Privacy Mode lets you send and receive text messages in dark crowded venues while making it difficult for people to read over your shoulder.
    • Tap Enable Privacy Mode to enable.
      • When you enable the privacy mode, the chat screen will dim.
      • To see messages while in privacy mode, do a long press in the space adjacent to the message you wish to read.
    • Tap Disable Privacy Mode to disable.

Last updated May 28, 2018.